Diablo 2 mods
 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:43 pm 
 Post subject: Pass/fail summin skill
 
Offline
Angel
User avatar

Age: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 3:11 am
Posts: 580
Location: Arizona, Prescott
Gender: None specified
Does anyone know of a way to make a summon skill only cast able if one or more stats have value X or above?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 6:49 am 
 Post subject: Re: Pass/fail summin skill
 
Offline
Paladin
User avatar

Age: 27
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 7:00 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Ukraine
Gender: Male
I think that's very easy to do with condition formula.

_________________
New Monster Animations Thread
Creating New Characters - Armor Discussion
Animatrix Project


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:26 pm 
 Post subject: Re: Pass/fail summin skill
 
Offline
Angel
User avatar

Age: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 3:11 am
Posts: 580
Location: Arizona, Prescott
Gender: None specified
This issue is no longer relevant to my plans. For the record I will say that summon skill or not, I don't know of a way to lock out a skill from being cast via formulas.
To my knowledge it is impossible, and this is something I have spend a great deal of effort investigating.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 7:53 pm 
 Post subject: Re: Pass/fail summin skill
 
Offline
Paladin
User avatar

Age: 27
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 7:00 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Ukraine
Gender: Male
It is very much possible: i've seen it a lot in MedianXL. For example, when you use morph, it allows only the use of melee skills. Or there are three uber skills at level 90, you choose one, and two others are blocked. Or as a paladin, you choose Holy or Unholy build, if you choose one, the other is blocked.
You can get the files and look how it is used. Brother Laz released his txt files in his last version. Would you like to look in the files?

_________________
New Monster Animations Thread
Creating New Characters - Armor Discussion
Animatrix Project


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:52 pm 
 Post subject: Re: Pass/fail summin skill
 
Offline
Angel
User avatar

Age: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 3:11 am
Posts: 580
Location: Arizona, Prescott
Gender: None specified
Those all use skpt column to lock out access to the learning the skill. There is no way to lock out the casting of a learned skill.

Regarding transformations, it is possible to lock out certain skills when the player is affected by or not affected by certain states, but how those states are applied/removed becomes an issue itself.

My purposes require a simple stat comparison to enable/disable the skill. As said above the topic is purely academic at this point, as I no longer need it for the purpose of my skill design.
However, I did get an add-on from kingpin which allows formula for mana cost, however that add on is no longer compatible with my mod, so it cannot be used here.

The above statements refer to vanilla.

Edit:
Sorry form my atrocious grammar here, writing on my phone doesn't make for fluent sentence structure.

Also, I am not trying to be argumentative or arrogant. I really would like to know a trick to do this and my comments are meant to clarify what I was seeking to do.

Additional comments or ideas are very welcome on the topic.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 3:16 am 
 Post subject: Re: Pass/fail summin skill
 
Offline
Serf

Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2014 6:42 pm
Posts: 3
Gender: None specified
k0r3l1k wrote:
Those all use skpt column to lock out access to the learning the skill. There is no way to lock out the casting of a learned skill.

Regarding transformations, it is possible to lock out certain skills when the player is affected by or not affected by certain states, but how those states are applied/removed becomes an issue itself.

My purposes require a simple stat comparison to enable/disable the skill. As said above the topic is purely academic at this point, as I no longer need it for the purpose of my skill design.
However, I did get an add-on from kingpin which allows formula for mana cost, however that add on is no longer compatible with my mod, so it cannot be used here.

The above statements refer to vanilla.

Edit:
Sorry form my atrocious grammar here, writing on my phone doesn't make for fluent sentence structure.

Also, I am not trying to be argumentative or arrogant. I really would like to know a trick to do this and my comments are meant to clarify what I was seeking to do.

Additional comments or ideas are very welcome on the topic.


The only thing I can really think of, have you tried using the stat as the amount of summons allowed? For example in skills.txt set the max summon column to 0, then use a condition formula so if you have a specific stat it gives you the correct amount of max summons.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 3:29 am 
 Post subject: Re: Pass/fail summin skill
 
Offline
Angel
User avatar

Age: 24
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 11:50 pm
Posts: 823
Gender: Male
Vav wrote:
The only thing I can really think of, have you tried using the stat as the amount of summons allowed? For example in skills.txt set the max summon column to 0, then use a condition formula so if you have a specific stat it gives you the correct amount of max summons.


We already tested that, the petmax will always default to 1.

_________________
PureRage wrote:
Durrrp, durrrp. idiot


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:40 am 
 Post subject: Re: Pass/fail summin skill
 
Offline
Serf

Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2014 6:42 pm
Posts: 3
Gender: None specified
Black_Eternity wrote:
Vav wrote:
The only thing I can really think of, have you tried using the stat as the amount of summons allowed? For example in skills.txt set the max summon column to 0, then use a condition formula so if you have a specific stat it gives you the correct amount of max summons.


We already tested that, the petmax will always default to 1.


That's unfortunate, I am afraid the only thing I can think of you can really do at this point softcode wise is use a stat check formula on the delay / cooldown, of course this will still allow them to cast it once before the massive cooldown kicks in to lock it out, so its not a proper solution.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Black Rock template by onyx (based on BlackSoul for phpBB2)