Page 1 of 25

Back to Hellfire v1.00/v1.02 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 8:09 pm
by onyx
Post bugs, suggestions, feedback, likes, dislikes and so on in this thread. Only for Back to Hellfire v1.00 ;)

EDIT: Version is up to 1.01 now :)

EDIT2: Version is up to 1.02 now.

Re: Back to Hellfire v1.00 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:05 pm
by kingpin
Time for me to post a report. So, far a great improvement since I played early version :)


Balance:

Skills:
- Sweeping Strike: To high mana cost at Level 1 (cost 1/4 of total mana) compare to damage you give.

Items:
- Cracked Cudgel sells for 450 gold
- Of Madness (amulet) sells for 1053 gold


Bugs:
- early levels. Hireling cost 0 gold to ressurect.
- Put equip item over hireling image "eats" the item.
- Hireling description says: Cold Hireling. He uses normal shot, multiple shoot.
- Selection area over entrante to dungeon level2 is not cover complete stair (both up/down)


Suggestions:

Potions like healing, antidote, mana lack description what they do.

Re: Back to Hellfire v1.00 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 1:39 am
by templarknight
Hi Onyx congrats on the release very nice very nice also atm I cannot belive this heh = :D but on the other hand :P I think I spotted a early bug also uhm when playing as the blood wizard I get no stat points on level up I reinstalled and than reinstalled again same thing is this on my your end or on mine please help would like to know asap>!

Re: Back to Hellfire v1.00 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 1:54 am
by usu
[quote=templarknight";p="374319"]Hi Onyx congrats on the release very nice very nice also atm I cannot belive this heh = :D but on the other hand :P I think I spotted a early bug also uhm when playing as the blood wizard I get no stat points on level up I reinstalled and than reinstalled again same thing is this on my your end or on mine please help would like to know asap>![/quote]
im playing one too and im getting 5 vit points/lvl.
i think you cant spend the points yourself.

@topic:
i tried out a bit with some chars, but i like the blood wizard most.
lvl 14, act2 now, q1 done, 6 books found (all of them were from other char classes, so i got 3 wizard books after mixing them in the "cube") and 0 deaths.

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 2:27 am
by Malachai29
usu, templarknight, Blood Wizard gets 5 points in vit at level up, and that is all.

Malachai

Re: Back to Hellfire v1.00 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 8:44 am
by onyx
[quote=kingpin";p="374294"]
- Sweeping Strike: To high mana cost at Level 1 (cost 1/4 of total mana) compare to damage you give.
[/quote]

Yes, but hits up to 3 targets, dealing that damage to each one of them ;)

[quote=kingpin";p="374294"]
- Cracked Cudgel sells for 450 gold
- Of Madness (amulet) sells for 1053 gold
[/quote]

Item prices sometimes don't make sense :P

[quote=kingpin";p="374294"]
- early levels. Hireling cost 0 gold to ressurect.
[/quote]

I don't think there's a workaround, it was never intended by Blizzard to have the hireling at level 1.

[quote=kingpin";p="374294"]
- Put equip item over hireling image "eats" the item.
[/quote]

To avoid it, just open the hireling's inventory and place the item into the slot.

[quote=kingpin";p="374294"]
- Hireling description says: Cold Hireling. He uses normal shot, multiple shoot.
[/quote]

Oh come on, you know why ;) Cold Arrow requires level 6, so once your Rogue levels up to that, she'll use it ;)

[quote=kingpin";p="374294"]
Potions like healing, antidote, mana lack description what they do.
[/quote]

Like no one playing Diablo II knows what they do :D

[quote=templarknight";p="374319"]
think I spotted a early bug also uhm when playing as the blood wizard I get no stat points on level up I reinstalled and than reinstalled again same thing is this on my your end or on mine please help would like to know asap&!
[/quote]

The Blood Wizard cannot increase Strength, Dexterity and Energy (not even from item bonuses). All stat points are auto-assigned to Vitality on level-up, I simply save you the effort of clicking 5 times ;) All his spells cost HP instead of mana.

Just a note on that, you will get 5 stat points as a reward to the Magic Roack quest in Act 3, but if you try to put a point on Strength, Dexterity or Energy, the point will be lost.

Once I update the website it will all become clear ;)

[quote=usu";p="374321"]
i tried out a bit with some chars, but i like the blood wizard most.
lvl 14, act2 now, q1 done, 6 books found (all of them were from other char classes, so i got 3 wizard books after mixing them in the "cube") and 0 deaths.
[/quote]

I did the test run of this version with a Blood Wizard, he's indeed a fun character to play.

Re: Back to Hellfire v1.00 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 11:10 am
by usu
another thing that i forgot to mention yesterday: did you disable /players8?
maybe its already in the manual and i just didnt see it, but when i tried to put in /players8, it just said "players set to 1".
The Blood Wizard cannot increase Strength, Dexterity and Energy (not even from item bonuses). All stat points are auto-assigned to Vitality on level-up, I simply save you the effort of clicking 5 times.
All his spells cost HP instead of mana.

Just a note on that, you will get 5 stat points as a reward to the Magic Roack quest in Act 3, but if you try to put a point on Strength, Dexterity or Energy, the point will be lost.

Once I update the website it will all become clear
so the blood wizard will never be able to use any armor? QQ

i think its a fair price, since he is (imo) a very powerfull char.
hes able to stack blaze and lure a boss through the flames to make some nice dmg (that was what i did to kill andy and the radament guy), he can blink, he has some nice high lvl spells (at least it looks like if they were nice), AND he got this great life regen passive, so you regenerate life you lost.
you designed him (and all the other stuff ive seen yet) really nice in my opinion, keep up the good work.

btw: the radament guy-skin looks awesome.

Re: Back to Hellfire v1.00 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 11:16 am
by onyx
[quote=usu";p="374354"]
another thing that i forgot to mention yesterday: did you disable /players8?
maybe its already in the manual and i just didnt see it, but when i tried to put in /players8, it just said "players set to 1".
[/quote]

The /players command has been disabled for years.

[quote=usu";p="374354"]
so the blood wizard will never be able to use any armor? QQ
[/quote]

He has class-specific capes.

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 11:22 am
by CorniI
Hi,
I played a blood wizard till now (Butcher is dead) and it looks imho a bit overpowered, I just walk through the levels like I'd do in LoD, it's fairly easy. At butcher my merc ripped 3 times, but this was it. The poisened water supply is missing an automap entry for it's entry ;)

Re: Back to Hellfire v1.00 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 11:26 am
by onyx
[quote=Aggrocorni";p="374357"]
I played a blood wizard till now (Butcher is dead) and it looks imho a bit overpowered, I just walk through the levels like I'd do in LoD, it's fairly easy.
[/quote]

It becomes harder in the higher levels. You really need to start off with this character, find skills and so on, because later you wouldn't be able to proceed if you don't ;)

[quote=Aggrocorni";p="374357"]
The poisened water supply is missing an automap entry for it's entry ;)
[/quote]

I know, but does it really need it? :P

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 2:04 pm
by rasty
When hosting or joining a LAN game it crashes
http://pix.a-l.fr/p/38/00/525302d644d62 ... 1f05ca.png

Re: Back to Hellfire v1.00 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 2:19 pm
by usu
im sorry if the question doesnt fit here, but im running around in a2 now for nearly an hour already.
and no, im not looking for the jail, but for the tombs.
ive checked all the houses in a2 if there was a rollover text, ive already looked if it was somewhere in the jail, but still, i cant find it.
and the jerhyn-guy isnt anywhere too, strange.

btw: lvl 17, got 2 of the 3 notes (as you might know), and still everything is quite easy, since i keep finding/cubing blaze books (1 punisher book yet, and even on lvl 1 it works quite well for non-moving targets that cant be killed with blaze) and im running around with a +3 blaze staff. (i think blaze is lvl 7 atm)
hopefully running around with blaze on and stacking some flames will help vs duriel too.

@thank you very much for the really fast answer.

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 2:21 pm
by onyx
This isn't a BTH error, it's a problem with the TCP/IP protocol on your machine. I can imagine you cannot host TCP/IP games using vanilla D2 either. Do some research using Google.

EDIT: usu, the Tombs are located under Jail. Find the entarnce to them in one of the corners of Jail Level 3.

As for Blaze, you'll need a new damage skill soon. You won't be counting forever on it, trust me ;)

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 3:10 pm
by rasty
[quote=onyx";p="374369"]This isn't a BTH error, it's a problem with the TCP/IP protocol on your machine. I can imagine you cannot host TCP/IP games using vanilla D2 either. Do some research using Google.
[/quote]
Vanilla LAN works flawlessly.I'll reinstall the game.
EDIT:It still doesnt work.

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 6:16 pm
by kingpin
[quote=rasty";p="374365"]When hosting or joining a LAN game it crashes
http://pix.a-l.fr/p/38/00/525302d644d62 ... 1f05ca.png[/quote]

Socket error may be because the host block the ports d2 uses. I don't know if BTH use any custom ports aswell.

Re: Back to Hellfire v1.00 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 6:55 pm
by QW_Shadow
Great update, Onyx!

I just had a few questions.

You say Rogue mercs get immolation arrow, so does this mean they can only have it if they are a fire merc? If you get a cold merc do they fire both cold arrow/immolation arrow?

For the warrior, what does the framecount mean for missile(dance of death)? I'm not entirely sure on what this skill does, yet. I take it from the description it's basically like the vanilla barbs whirlwind, but you remain in one spot. Where do missiles come into play?

What do those moon/night clan horns do?

Re: Back to Hellfire v1.00 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 7:01 pm
by onyx
[quote=kingpin";p="374382"]
Socket error may be because the host block the ports d2 uses. I don't know if BTH use any custom ports aswell.
[/quote]

Of course it doesn't. I tried and creating a TCP/IP game works fine on my end.

[quote=QW_Shadow";p="374384"]
You say Rogue mercs get immolation arrow, so does this mean they can only have it if they are a fire merc? If you get a cold merc do they fire both cold arrow/immolation arrow?
[/quote]

Only the fire Rogue, and only on higher difficulties. Check the website, it's all there.

[quote=QW_Shadow";p="374384"]
For the warrior, what does the framecount mean for missile(dance of death)? I'm not entirely sure on what this skill does, yet. I take it from the description it's basically like the vanilla barbs whirlwind, but you remain in one spot. Where do missiles come into play?
[/quote]

This was just a fix of wrong framecount causing errors in the D2 log.

[quote=QW_Shadow";p="374384"]
What do those moon/night clan horns do?
[/quote]

Again, check the website.

Re: Back to Hellfire v1.00 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 8:20 pm
by usu
sooo....
i killed duriel some hours ago with lvl 18, no problem at all, the flame stacking tactics still worked well.
i made some runs here and there to get to lvl 20, because i already had 1 blood golem, 1 sentinel and 2 stone curse books.
when i first tried out sentinel, the graphic was quite surprising to me.
i excepted some kind of flame-eye, but the blue flying eye looks a bit psychopathic, still nice, since it looks a bit scary, it fits to most dungeons (and to the wall of corpses i have around me quite often).

and ive seen my first "bug" so far (i dont know if it is just my pc, though).
i made a tp in the maggot lair like place where i got the magic stone thingie, when i entered town everything was ugly eyecancer purple-yellow.

and i have some questions:
what does the starfall animation look like? is it the usual fireball-in-all-directions?
are there lots of immunes in the higher difficulties?
im planning on killing most stuff with starfall (if i get some books..) and the immunes with sentinel (and lots of other skills of course), would that work out well?

Re: Back to Hellfire v1.00 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:08 am
by bwjevansman
hello I would like to note I will be making videos of bth mod for youtube check out user bwjevansman just search bwjevansman its a video of me as the blood wizard pawning the Butcher on level 4 at level 8 as it says :P
go see for your self please post feedback on youtube heh :)

Re: Back to Hellfire v1.00 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:33 am
by kingpin
Bugs
- Blunt (Two Handed Sword) lack stat.
- Doom Serpent (monk): Not sure if this is a bug or intended. But, the snakes is not show up as pet icon.


Suggestions
- Hireling leveling seems slow. My char Level 12, hireling level 6. If this keeps up my hireling will be level 50 then I'm level 99 :)

Re: Back to Hellfire v1.00 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:46 am
by onyx
[quote=usu";p="374391"]
when i first tried out sentinel, the graphic was quite surprising to me.
i excepted some kind of flame-eye, but the blue flying eye looks a bit psychopathic, still nice, since it looks a bit scary, it fits to most dungeons (and to the wall of corpses i have around me quite often).
[/quote]

The graphics are actually from a planned, but removed skill in Diablo, called (surprise!) Sentinel ;)

[quote=usu";p="374391"]
and ive seen my first "bug" so far (i dont know if it is just my pc, though).
i made a tp in the maggot lair like place where i got the magic stone thingie, when i entered town everything was ugly eyecancer purple-yellow.
[/quote]

Hm, intersting. I thought I fixed this bug... :(

[quote=usu";p="374391"]
and i have some questions:
what does the starfall animation look like? is it the usual fireball-in-all-directions?
are there lots of immunes in the higher difficulties?
im planning on killing most stuff with starfall (if i get some books..) and the immunes with sentinel (and lots of other skills of course), would that work out well?
[/quote]

Starfall is Blood Stars in all directions and deals magic damage. And yes, there are immunes in higher difficulties.

[quote=bwjevansman";p="374416"]
hello I would like to note I will be making videos of bth mod for youtube check out user bwjevansman just search bwjevansman its a video of me as the blood wizard pawning the Butcher on level 4 at level 8 as it says :P
go see for your self please post feedback on youtube heh :)
[/quote]

Hey, it looks nice :) I guess it's time to make a Videos section on the site.

EDIT: There we go, I added your video to the website :D

[quote=kingpin";p="374451"]
- Blunt (Two Handed Sword) lack stat.
[/quote]

It should have reduced min damage. Not sure why it isn't showing a string.

[quote=kingpin";p="374451"]
- Doom Serpent (monk): Not sure if this is a bug or intended. But, the snakes is not show up as pet icon.
[/quote]

Intended. When I was testing the skill, the snakes seemed so random. I mean yes, you summon them and they will move generally in your direction, but they will still do what they want. For example, you fight with a certain monster, but the serpents decide to in the other direction ;) So I thought they aren't your pets, they have a mind of their own, that's why I removed their per icon. It also gives you that creepy "something is lurking out there" feeling :)

[quote=kingpin";p="374451"]
- Hireling leveling seems slow. My char Level 12, hireling level 6. If this keeps up my hireling will be level 50 then I'm level 99 :)
[/quote]

She should catch up at some point. I don't think I can do anything about it.

Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 10:16 am
by biobaba
just a quick question with Vita Elixer.. is it able to actually add vitality again or still bugged?

I havent see this on the bug fixes in readme yet so just wondering

Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 10:18 am
by onyx
Still bugged, sadly :( I couldn't solve all the bugs that I'm aware of...

Re: Back to Hellfire v1.00 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 4:21 pm
by usu
ive got another problem :oops:
yesterday, i got raped by some champions creatures in a4, blinking into a stunning champ mob wasnt very smart though.
soo...
when i tried to load the char again, so ill get my corpse back in a4 and ill get my revenge for this death, the load-thingie in the loading screen didnt fill up.
so after waiting 5 minutes i decided to alt+f4, than my pc f* up.
i tried again, but still it wont work.

im playing bth on a blank 1.10 install, i installed it right, no plugy, no *whatdoiknow* stuff, so if you think im a cheater/editor user/plugy user, your wrong.

it might be a bug with the new map, or maybe the game isnt able to display the blood wizards corpse right (its a blood wizard, if i havent mentioned it yet).

(im sorry for grammatical issues and bad explenations in this text, english isnt my mothertongue though. but i think your all able to understand this post.)

Re: Back to Hellfire v1.00 Bugs/Feedback Thread

Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 4:32 pm
by onyx
My guess is your character got corrupted in some way, not sure how. Care to post a log from the time when it happened?

I also died with a Blood Wizard during my test run, and I had no problem retrieving my body.

Here's something else you can try - make a new character and see if the game works with it. You can also try dying and trying to load it again, see if that works too.