New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Discuss applications of D2Mod (v1.10), NefEx (v1.11+), and PlugY, and post suggestions for future plugins.

Moderators: Nefarius, Yohann, SVR

0
No votes
 
Total votes: 0

User avatar
mrelfire
Angel
Posts: 518
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 9:27 am
Location: France

Post by mrelfire » Sat Oct 23, 2004 5:54 pm

so let's play to test it

update as of 24/10/2004
after several hours of multiplay, no problems uncountered, so I am using this opportunity to releasing a new version of my mod
Last edited by mrelfire on Sun Oct 24, 2004 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Havvoric
Retired staff
Champion of the Light
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 1:12 am
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Contact:

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by Havvoric » Sun Nov 14, 2004 9:18 pm

I have a new D2Mod plugin, based on Myhrginoc's discovery, described in viewtopic.php?t=27968.

It can be downloaded from: http://havvoric.fateback.com

User avatar
bla viper
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:16 pm
Location: in my pants

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by bla viper » Mon Nov 15, 2004 1:16 am

8-O This plugin is nice Havvoric. :cool: Good job. :D

keep on bringing on new plugins for the ultamte d2 mod system most of us have ever seen. ;)

edit: can any one make this a plugin explained in this thread?

viewtopic.php?t=28076

I think it would be cool.
Last edited by bla viper on Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:31 am, edited 4 times in total.
srry for my bad writing

User avatar
mrelfire
Angel
Posts: 518
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 9:27 am
Location: France

Post by mrelfire » Tue Nov 16, 2004 2:30 pm

When I used this new plugins, it asked me for a msvcr71d.dll ?
never heared about that before ?
any ideas ?

User avatar
Havvoric
Retired staff
Champion of the Light
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 1:12 am
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Contact:

Post by Havvoric » Tue Nov 16, 2004 5:10 pm

Sorry, my bad.
This was written with Visual Studio .NET. Will sort this out this evening. Will either re-compile with VSC6 (needing msvcr6.dll), or link it statically.

In the mean-time, you could try microsoft's website. they should be able to provide a runtime.
Last edited by Havvoric on Tue Nov 16, 2004 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
bla viper
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:16 pm
Location: in my pants

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by bla viper » Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:25 pm

I had no problem wit this plugin. It did not ask for a dll at all but it just may be that i did not get to that quest yet but if i got problems i will let you know right away.

:) :) :) :) :) :)
srry for my bad writing

User avatar
Havvoric
Retired staff
Champion of the Light
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 1:12 am
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Contact:

Post by Havvoric » Tue Nov 16, 2004 7:00 pm

Have now got Visual Studio 6, so will post an updated version, hopefully, in an hour or so.

Bla viper, have you got .NET runtimes installed?

EDIT: New version uploaded to webpage.
Last edited by Havvoric on Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
bla viper
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:16 pm
Location: in my pants

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by bla viper » Tue Nov 16, 2004 10:36 pm

not that i know of unless a gost came on my pc and installed it. other than that i don't but that stuff happens alot thou wich is kind of wird, ooooowell at lest it works wright? :lol:


:cool: :lol: :cool: :lol: :cool: :lol:
srry for my bad writing

User avatar
Havvoric
Retired staff
Champion of the Light
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 1:12 am
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Contact:

Post by Havvoric » Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:51 pm

Okay, a new, smaller version has been posted to my website (see my signature), which is based on VC6, so everyone should be able to run if they can run D2Mod. As before, let me know of any problems, preferably here, so everyone can see :lol:

User avatar
Myhrginoc
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 12062
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 7:28 am
Location: Percussion U

Hand-picked

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by Myhrginoc » Wed Nov 17, 2004 2:54 am

We have opened a new D2Mod page in our File Center, just for D2Mod and its plugins. All the ones we know about are there, including Havvoric's updated Charsi Imbue plugin. [strike]No external documentation yet, that is coming soon.[/strike] Please let us know if any link doesn't work or yields unexpected results.

EDIT 11-17

Readme files now accessible from Documentation links.
Last edited by Myhrginoc on Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
Do the right thing. It will gratify some people and astonish the rest.
~ Mark Twain
Run Diablo II in any version for mods: tutorial
The Terms of Service!! Know them, abide by them, and enjoy the forums at peace.
The Beginner's Guide v1.4: (MS Word | PDF) || Mod Running Scripts || TFW: Awakening

User avatar
bla viper
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:16 pm
Location: in my pants

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by bla viper » Wed Nov 17, 2004 10:25 pm

can any one make a plugin that is explained in these topics?

viewtopic.php?t=28076

viewtopic.php?t=7837&highlight=make+ven ... rare+items

if so i would really apreasheat it beacuz it would birind my mod closer to what i want it to be just a littel bit.

I would be glad to do plugins for this system but i must be one of the wors code editors in this worled but i would love to learn some day wee i have more time for this stuff. actually i probobly do have enouf time to learn the baisics but i am just to lazy to do so.


:( :( :-| :-| :) :) :)
srry for my bad writing

User avatar
speedyg869
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 7:12 pm

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by speedyg869 » Tue Dec 14, 2004 6:42 am

SVR,
You have done well. Excellent project!
Where is the SDK posted. I've searched all the forums, but can't find it. :?:
Thx

User avatar
erk
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 12:47 am

Installing D2Mod.dll under FreeBSD/Wine/PvPGN

Post by erk » Thu Dec 16, 2004 1:02 am

I am trying to install D2Mod on a PvPGN 1.7.3 server running on FreeBSD 5.3-RELEASE with a current version of Wine. This is a headless server, no GUI no mouse etc. The .bat installer file command rundll32 .\d2mod.dll,D2ModSetup tries to activate a dialog or something that causes it to break. Is their a manual method I can use to install D2Mod at the command line that duplicates what the installed does by hand editing some files?

User avatar
kingpin
Senior Admin
Cherub
Posts: 10897
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 12:51 pm
Contact:
Sweden

Hand-picked

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by kingpin » Thu Dec 16, 2004 2:10 am

You aren't allowed to discuss any Private Realm questions, see our global announcement thread.

User avatar
erk
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 12:47 am

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by erk » Thu Dec 16, 2004 3:07 am

kingpin";p="204584" wrote:You aren't allowed to discuss any Private Realm questions, see our global announcement thread.
What a bummer, Oh well.

User avatar
speedyg869
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 7:12 pm

Do any item pickup plugins work with the D2 Mod System?

Post by speedyg869 » Sat Dec 18, 2004 6:40 pm

Do any of the item pickup plugins work with the D2 Mod System :?:
I tried zPickit 3.5d beta.001 for Diablo2 1.10, but the DLL wouldn't load.

Sorry Kingpin, I only play SP, so I didn't think of it from that perspective.
Thanks for pointing that out. :-|
Last edited by speedyg869 on Sat Dec 18, 2004 7:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
kingpin
Senior Admin
Cherub
Posts: 10897
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 12:51 pm
Contact:
Sweden

Hand-picked

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by kingpin » Sat Dec 18, 2004 7:28 pm

Do any of the item pickup plugins work with the D2 Mod System icon_question.gif
I tried zPickit 3.5d beta.001 for Diablo2 1.10, but the DLL wouldn't load.
No cheats works with d2mod.dll and in future please, don't ask about it.

User avatar
reiyo_oki
Retired staff
Arch-Angel
Posts: 1275
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 5:39 pm
Location: Rhuidean, the city of dreams
United States of America

Post by reiyo_oki » Sun Dec 26, 2004 12:28 am

What, if anything does the installation do to the D2 dll files? it must change SOMETHING to link in, but what? I want to know so I can include the altered files with my mod, rather than forcing users to install it themselves.

Reality is different for each person; What one person sees, another does not. It's all a matter of perspective. This is my reality, I'll live it as I choose.

"Qui desiderat pacem, praeparet bellum"
"Who desires peace should prepare for war."
- Vegetius De Rei Militari III

User avatar
SVR
Retired staff
Arch-Angel
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Hand-picked

Post by SVR » Sun Dec 26, 2004 3:46 pm

The setup patches d2gfx.dll with the linker.
You can include that file, but the idea behind D2Mod is not to include modified d2 dlls.
It's just as easy to run the setup as it is to copy the dll.

In the future, I will add a mod installer that will check if d2mod is already installed.

User avatar
Myhrginoc
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 12062
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 7:28 am
Location: Percussion U

Hand-picked

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by Myhrginoc » Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:24 pm

Maybe including a modified d2gfx.dll is a better approach, at 34kB zipped it doesn't add a lot to the package size. The d2mod system works just fine in mod subdirectories, and this way you don't worry about the dll in the main directory. (I know it is mentioned in the d2mod readme, but some people want it as simple as possible.)

Your mod installer wouldn't know if people have correct d2mod installs in mod directories, if they leave the original file untouched.
Last edited by Myhrginoc on Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Do the right thing. It will gratify some people and astonish the rest.
~ Mark Twain
Run Diablo II in any version for mods: tutorial
The Terms of Service!! Know them, abide by them, and enjoy the forums at peace.
The Beginner's Guide v1.4: (MS Word | PDF) || Mod Running Scripts || TFW: Awakening

User avatar
reiyo_oki
Retired staff
Arch-Angel
Posts: 1275
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 5:39 pm
Location: Rhuidean, the city of dreams
United States of America

Post by reiyo_oki » Sun Dec 26, 2004 10:43 pm

Yeah, and I use the mod launching script, which makes it all that much easier, since it uses the dlls from the folder which the script is launched.

Reality is different for each person; What one person sees, another does not. It's all a matter of perspective. This is my reality, I'll live it as I choose.

"Qui desiderat pacem, praeparet bellum"
"Who desires peace should prepare for war."
- Vegetius De Rei Militari III

User avatar
SVR
Retired staff
Arch-Angel
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Hand-picked

Post by SVR » Fri Dec 31, 2004 6:08 am

The d2mod system works just fine in mod subdirectories,
Yep, but the d2gfx.dll needs to be in the D2 folder (unless you use a script).

In a perfect world (where all mods used d2mod ;-) the setup would self extract TheMod.mpq into it's folder, create the shortcut and run the d2mod setup if required.

One of the motivations for d2mod was to eliminate scripts and the need to swap out dlls.

It's up to the modder I guess if they want to include the patched d2gfx.
But don't expect to receive your "Made for D2Mod" or "D2Mod Inside" logo in the mail :P :mrgreen:

User avatar
Xenast
Retired staff
Angel
Posts: 765
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2003 12:11 am
Location: Elliot Lake, Ontario

Post by Xenast » Thu Jan 20, 2005 5:47 am

I just downloaded D2Mod and got the custom string plugin and extended levels plugin. I installed the mod, but the plugins didn't work. I added them to my ini, I even downloaded other mods that use D2Mod to make sure I did everything right. It says the mod is installed in the game startup.

I am using direct -txt, so I was thinking maybe thats got something to do with it not working?

User avatar
Myhrginoc
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 12062
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 7:28 am
Location: Percussion U

Hand-picked

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by Myhrginoc » Thu Jan 20, 2005 6:37 am

I use -direct as a default on all mods I play. But -txt is only required once, to generate a set of bin files. Once you have those, you don't need -txt again unless you get an updated txt file. I have had no trouble running the custom tbl plugin, but I haven't run the extended levels plugin yet. (The .ini sample below also shows working plugY in d2mod environment.)

[D2MOD]

; StatFix=StatFix.dll
MercMod=MercMod.dll
CustomTbl=CustomTbl.dll
; ExtLvl=ExtLvl.dll
; BOL=BOL.dll
PlugY=PlugY.dll
; d2extra=d2extra.dll

;------------------------------------------------

[CustomTbl]

; CustomTbl.ini
; Ini file for CustomTbl.dll
;
;
; table1 = TableName
; table2 ... more tables


table1=CustomStrings1.tbl
;table2=CustomStrings2.tbl
;table3=CustomStrings3.tbl
Do the right thing. It will gratify some people and astonish the rest.
~ Mark Twain
Run Diablo II in any version for mods: tutorial
The Terms of Service!! Know them, abide by them, and enjoy the forums at peace.
The Beginner's Guide v1.4: (MS Word | PDF) || Mod Running Scripts || TFW: Awakening

User avatar
Xenast
Retired staff
Angel
Posts: 765
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2003 12:11 am
Location: Elliot Lake, Ontario

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by Xenast » Thu Jan 20, 2005 6:54 am

I cant get it working, heres what mine looks like:


[D2MOD]

StatFix=StatFix.dll
MercMod=MercMod.dll
CustomTbl=CustomTbl.dll
ExtLvl=ExtLvl.dll
BOL=BOL.dll
Portal=portal.dll


;=============================================================
; Add ini info for each mod here


;------------------------------------------------

[StatBar]

; StatBar.ini
; Ini file for statbar mod - used by Statfix.dll
;
; BLUE 151
; YELLOW 168
; MAGENTA 155
; GREEN 132
; CYAN 162
;
; stat1 = statID,MaxStatID,loColor,Color,HiColor,string key,divide
; stat2 ... more stats

stat1=8,9,5,132,162,4164,256


;------------------------------------------------

[MercMod]

; MercMod.ini
; Ini file for mercmod.dll
;
;
; merc1 = mercID,UseShield,additionalWeaponType1,2,3,4 ...
; merc2 ... more mercs
;

merc1 = 271,0
merc2 = 338,0
merc3 = 359,1
merc4 = 561,0



;------------------------------------------------

[CustomTbl]

; CustomTbl.ini
; Ini file for CustomTbl.dll
;
;
; table1 = TableName
; table2 ... more tables


table1=messages.tbl
;table2=CustomStrings2.tbl
;table3=CustomStrings3.tbl


I also only have the portal.dll, d2mod.dll, extlvl.dll, and customtbl.dll in my mod directory if that matters.
Last edited by Xenast on Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply

Return to “PlugY|NefEx|D2Mod”