act 5 crash

Information and updates for the "Battle for Elements" mod by TrueMage. If you have any questions or suggestions for these mods, please post them here. Click here to visit the official web site.

Moderator: TrueMage

Post Reply

0
No votes
 
Total votes: 0

User avatar
Xcolibri
Junior Member
Champion of the Light
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 9:54 am
Location: kickme.to/xcolibri
Contact:

act 5 crash

Post by Xcolibri » Tue Oct 18, 2005 6:00 pm

After realizing some days ago that I had an old version of BfE, I downloaded the new one immediately. But it seems broken / bugged, maybe installed badly. I deleted the old folder as specified, not sure what could be wrong.
It shows 1.22 at the start screen and works perfectly till act 5. There, speaking to any NPC or reading the Book of Lore crashes the game immediately.
Any idea why?
Would it help if I post the log?

It's a pity since the mod is fun. I made some screenshots and wanted to write some feedback but now I'm not sure if everything is right - well, obviously not ^^

Also, where can I find the luck / endurance statistics? Fourth character page, I read somewhere. I only have two...

User avatar
TrueMage
Hosted Forum Moderator
Principality
Posts: 2056
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 7:58 am
Location: Elemental Conflux
Contact:
Russia

Re: act 5 crash

Post by TrueMage » Wed Oct 19, 2005 3:26 am

You have wrong installation. :) Installation order (for version 1.22):

1. Download version 1.20 (base package), version 1.21 (update), version 1.22 (update).
2. Delete old BFE folder.
3. Unzip version 1.20 in D2 root folder with full paths.
4. Unzip version 1.21 in D2 root folder with full paths and files overwriting. Repeat same for version 1.22.
5. Go to BFE folder and run "LaunchBFE.vbs" (it is important, You can't just run mod with shortcut).

And yes, fourth character' statistics page. ;)

User avatar
Xcolibri
Junior Member
Champion of the Light
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 9:54 am
Location: kickme.to/xcolibri
Contact:

Re: act 5 crash

Post by Xcolibri » Wed Oct 19, 2005 9:45 am

I'm quite sure that I did everything exactly as you listed it.
And I'm running the mod with the script, too.
Hmm.

Well, I try installing it again, maybe I did something wrong, indeed.
Thanks for the quick reply, though.

<< Edit >>
Okay, I installed everything again and it's halfway working: act 5 itself works fine, no crashing when I talk to the NPCs and I can read the Book of Lore as well.
But I still have only two character pages. Is there any specific file I can check if something is wrong?
It's like that: I can go to the second character page, where I see two arrows at the bottom, one to the right, one to the left. But both are bringing me to the first character page. There are also two little slots, like for rings, left to both arrows. No idea what they are for :D
It's not a big problem, but a pity, though :(

Oh, by the way, act 5 is really hard, when the necros keep prisoning you and you can hardly move. Ooff. The magic resist potion help well versus teeth but I can't really get into melee with them...
Last edited by Xcolibri on Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
TrueMage
Hosted Forum Moderator
Principality
Posts: 2056
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 7:58 am
Location: Elemental Conflux
Contact:
Russia

Re: act 5 crash

Post by TrueMage » Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:55 pm

Xcolibri";p="244620" wrote:But I still have only two character pages. Is there any specific file I can check if something is wrong?
This is very strange, because 2nd, 3rd, and 4th pages of character stats is actually one file (statsinterface.txt). So if You see 2nd page, then You should see others too.
Short files structure:
D2 root folder
-BFE
--Data
---Global
---Local
--PlugY
---statsinterface.txt
---PlugYDefault.ini
---other files
--Save
--bfe.ini
--LaunchBFE.vbs
--PlugY.dll
--PlugY.ini
--other files
There are also two little slots, like for rings, left to both arrows.
What? Well, please send me D2 log file and PlugY.log (in BFE folder).
Oh, by the way, act 5 is really hard
Not so hard as start of game. ;)

User avatar
Xcolibri
Junior Member
Champion of the Light
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 9:54 am
Location: kickme.to/xcolibri
Contact:

Re: act 5 crash

Post by Xcolibri » Wed Oct 19, 2005 5:12 pm

So far, in act 5 only the necros with bone prison are hard ;)

Unfortunately, my pc with Diablo on it has no internet connection, but I'm going to transfer the logs on this pc then.
Also, I wrote down the structure to check it when the other pc is on (can power only one at a time ;)), but I think that I have it as you listed it above.

Maybe I'm just too dumb to see the character page...I just (should) need the arrow on the page with the attributes, right? Which brings me to the second page, when there are two arrows. Of wich both brings me to the first again...
However, I'll send you the logs, and a downsized screenshot of what I mean ;)
Most probably tomorrow.
As always, thanks for your help :)
Last edited by Xcolibri on Wed Oct 19, 2005 5:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TrueMage
Hosted Forum Moderator
Principality
Posts: 2056
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 7:58 am
Location: Elemental Conflux
Contact:
Russia

Re: act 5 crash

Post by TrueMage » Fri Oct 21, 2005 7:31 am

Very amazing! :)
I have looked Your log files. The first of all, version of PlugY is strongly outdated (4.02b instead of 6.01b):

Code: Select all

[b][color=#0024ff]version 4.02b[/color][/b]


<---------- Starting Diablo II Plugin ---------->


* PlugY is called from D2mod.dll

***** Load D2 Libraries *****
SmackW32.dll loaded successfully at: 02D90000
D2Common.dll loaded successfully at: 048D0000
How it can be? :) Well, I think that answer consists in version of Your "game.exe". It is 1.07 !!! Not 1.10. :) :

Code: Select all

12:07:03.800  ------------------------------------------------------
12:07:03.800  PROGRAM:       Diablo II [b][color=#0024ff]v1.07[/color][/b]
12:07:03.800  COMPUTER NAME: WOLFGANG
12:07:03.800  USER NAME:     Wolfgang
12:07:03.800  TIME:          2005-10-19 12:07:03.800
12:07:03.800  
12:07:03.800  ***** UNHANDLED EXCEPTION: ACCESS_VIOLATION (c0000005)
12:07:03.850  Fault address:  00401710 01:00000710 D:\ROLAND\DIABLO II\GAME.EXE
12:07:03.850  eax:9e700000 ebx:00000000 ecx:02630000 edx:00000601 esi:0040fc24
How You run BFE actually? With script? And how You run Your 1.10 Diablo 2?

You need to have 1.10 game.exe in Diablo 2 root folder or to edit "LaunchBFE.vbs" if You run 1.10 patch with another file.
Last edited by TrueMage on Fri Oct 21, 2005 7:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Xcolibri
Junior Member
Champion of the Light
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 9:54 am
Location: kickme.to/xcolibri
Contact:

Re: act 5 crash

Post by Xcolibri » Fri Oct 21, 2005 8:20 am

Do I need to have the current version of PlugY installed? I thought that this is not necessary cause it's implemented in the mod as plug-in.
Sorry if that's a silly question :)

I run BfE with the script, plain D2 just by clicking the game.exe
I do have 1.10 as far as I know. I do have the 1.10 patch and cannot remember that any previous mod overwrote this.
Just in case: Is it easy to edit this vbs-file?

User avatar
TrueMage
Hosted Forum Moderator
Principality
Posts: 2056
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 7:58 am
Location: Elemental Conflux
Contact:
Russia

Re: act 5 crash

Post by TrueMage » Fri Oct 21, 2005 9:02 am

[quote=Xcolibri";p="244860"]Do I need to have the current version of PlugY installed? I thought that this is not necessary cause it's implemented in the mod as plug-in.
Sorry if that's a silly question :)[/quote]
No, it is not silly question and You are right, BFE contains 6.01b version of PlugY, so You no need to install PlugY by yourself, BUT... You runs Your Diablo 2 (at least my mod) with 1.07 game.exe.
Looks again:
Your log:

Code: Select all

12:07:03.800  ------------------------------------------------------ 
12:07:03.800  PROGRAM:       Diablo II [b][color=#002dff]v1.07[/color][/b] 
12:07:03.800  COMPUTER NAME: WOLFGANG 
12:07:03.800  USER NAME:     Wolfgang 
12:07:03.800  TIME:          2005-10-19 12:07:03.800 
12:07:03.800  
12:07:03.800  ***** UNHANDLED EXCEPTION: ACCESS_VIOLATION (c0000005) 
12:07:03.850  Fault address:  00401710 01:00000710 D:\ROLAND\DIABLO II\GAME.EXE 
12:07:03.850  eax:9e700000 ebx:00000000 ecx:02630000 edx:00000601 esi:0040fc24
My log:

Code: Select all

11:36:02.810  ------------------------------------------------------
11:36:02.810  PROGRAM:       Diablo II [b][color=#002dff]v1.10[/color][/b]
11:36:02.810  COMPUTER NAME: PROG2
11:36:02.810  USER NAME:     Администратор
11:36:02.810  TIME:          2005-08-15 11:36:02.810
11:36:02.810  
11:36:02.810  --------  FILE: D2Client\Engine\GfxUtil.cpp    LINE: 1437  --------

Assertion Failure
Are You see the difference? :)
So I just don't know what miracles can take place if You run 1.10 mod with 1.07 game.exe. :)
You need to remove this factor at least.
Last edited by TrueMage on Fri Oct 21, 2005 9:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Xcolibri
Junior Member
Champion of the Light
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 9:54 am
Location: kickme.to/xcolibri
Contact:

Re: act 5 crash

Post by Xcolibri » Fri Oct 21, 2005 12:27 pm

Well, I just try installing D2 again completely and give it a clean start with the 1.10 patch then before I install BfE. This way, it must work :)

User avatar
Myhrginoc
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 12062
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 7:28 am
Location: Percussion U

Hand-picked

Re: act 5 crash

Post by Myhrginoc » Fri Oct 21, 2005 3:56 pm

The scripts don't mask optional files, just the Blizzard files. So if you have a plugY in the game directory and a plugY in the mod directory, the game directory version gets loaded anyway.

[Another card falls into the Myhrginoc Job Jar...]
Do the right thing. It will gratify some people and astonish the rest.
~ Mark Twain
Run Diablo II in any version for mods: tutorial
The Terms of Service!! Know them, abide by them, and enjoy the forums at peace.
The Beginner's Guide v1.4: (MS Word | PDF) || Mod Running Scripts || TFW: Awakening

User avatar
Xcolibri
Junior Member
Champion of the Light
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 9:54 am
Location: kickme.to/xcolibri
Contact:

Re: act 5 crash

Post by Xcolibri » Fri Oct 21, 2005 10:32 pm

Yay, works perfectly now!
Yes, I installed the new PlugY and tried that before installing the whole stuff from scratch. And it worked immediately. Four character pages now :)
No idea where this 1.07 game.exe is coming from, probably I will put a clean patch over it later. Works fine now, though, so it really was that PlugY problem, as Myhrginoc mentioned.

Just got the last act 5 wp, being very close to finish normal. Which is just the start, anyway...

Thanks for your help, both of you!

This thread can be closed / deleted, no further questions.

User avatar
TrueMage
Hosted Forum Moderator
Principality
Posts: 2056
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 7:58 am
Location: Elemental Conflux
Contact:
Russia

Re: act 5 crash

Post by TrueMage » Tue Oct 25, 2005 3:59 am

Glad to hear that problem was solved. :)

[quote=Myhrginoc";p="244920"]The scripts don't mask optional files, just the Blizzard files. So if you have a plugY in the game directory and a plugY in the mod directory, the game directory version gets loaded anyway.

[Another card falls into the Myhrginoc Job Jar...][/quote]
Well, I'll mask plagY.dll and d2mod.dll in next version, it is easy. :) Just one question, need I to mask PlugY.ini (if it exist in D2 root folder) too?

User avatar
Myhrginoc
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 12062
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 7:28 am
Location: Percussion U

Hand-picked

Re: act 5 crash

Post by Myhrginoc » Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:09 am

I don't think so. But try two different versions and see which one appears in the game (after you mask the dll).
Last edited by Myhrginoc on Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Do the right thing. It will gratify some people and astonish the rest.
~ Mark Twain
Run Diablo II in any version for mods: tutorial
The Terms of Service!! Know them, abide by them, and enjoy the forums at peace.
The Beginner's Guide v1.4: (MS Word | PDF) || Mod Running Scripts || TFW: Awakening

Post Reply

Return to “Battle for Elements”