My current research for a graphics related mod project

This is the place for people to research themes and ideas for their mods as well as for others to post their suggestions for mod makers to make use of.

Moderator: Nefarius

Ominous

My current research for a graphics related mod project

Post by Ominous » Sun Dec 01, 2013 10:28 am

Hello all, I'm not really new to these forums but I've long forgot my username/password due to a long absence from modding since its been a few years.

I have recently been planning a graphics based mod since I have a lot of background in image manipulation and have been looking into resources from other blizzard based games. When I first came back to skim through the news and forums I was very surprised to find that we can add new levels/towns/objects....it took the breath right out of me.

Well like anyone else i started looking into the most obvious of blizzards games, World of Warcraft and stumbled across Wow Model Viewer. Nice I can now look at all the creature models and even export perfect animations!....or so I thought until i noticed that there is no way someone could actually position the models good enough to be used as animations in D2.

Well I decided to find a quick work around and sniffed out the pointers for the Models X/Y rotation and Distance from the camera. Which I will now post here for anyone who was wanting a quick fix along with a short tutorial. Note that I am not going to go into detail about how to convert to .dcc and insert into Diablo 2, since i assume the audience already knows how to do this.

Base Pointer Address: 0082B84C (Please note that all the pointers use the same base address)
Y Axis Model Rotation - Offset: 1FC
X Axis Model Rotation - Offset: 1F8
Camera Distance from Model - Offset: 1F4

===== Very Short Tutorial =====
Tools Required:
-Wow Model Viewer v0.7.0.6(latest I've found for pandaria)
-Cheat Engine(any version should work unless its way too old)