Having trouble packing mpq

Post here about all aspects of D2 mod making whether it's information, problems or whatever. Please specify whether your post is relating to Classic D2 or the Expansion.

Moderators: GuyAskingQuestion, Doombreed-x, Nefarius, talonrage

Post Reply
EzRemake
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:30 pm

Having trouble packing mpq

Post by EzRemake » Mon Oct 16, 2017 2:00 am

Ive tried several MPQ editors and each one results in a game crash when I try to play from the patch MPQ...

I followed the guide over at

http://www.blizzhackers.cc/viewtopic.php?t=459161

And can't even replace one .bin without coming out the other side with a completely broken MPQ file. Shame, since MPQEditor has the best UI and usability. Can anyone recomend an editor that actually works, preferably one that allows easy overwriting?


And also, just to clarify;

-Do you have to replace EVERY .bin that is generated in your data folder, or just the ones with changes?

-Do all string changes/additions have to be placed in patchstring, or can i also include an edited version of string?

User avatar
Black_Eternity
Dark Alliance Beta Test
Angel
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 11:50 pm
United States of America

Re: Having trouble packing mpq

Post by Black_Eternity » Mon Oct 16, 2017 2:12 am

Back in the days, WinMPQ was the editor of choice, but lately I use Ladiks MPQ.

Technically you only need to replace .bins you have edited, however for safe measure I replace them all. (As misc,armor,weapons are considered the same file for example)

You can place strings in whichever file you see fit, but patchstring allows for the most room.
PureRage wrote:Durrrp, durrrp. idiot

szumigajowy
Dark Alliance Beta Test
Serf
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 5:28 pm
Poland

Re: Having trouble packing mpq

Post by szumigajowy » Mon Oct 16, 2017 2:50 am

Watch this video all is done step by step

EzRemake
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:30 pm

Re: Having trouble packing mpq

Post by EzRemake » Mon Oct 16, 2017 5:17 am

Thanks for the speedy replies!

Managed to get it working via the method in that video, thanks! Seems like WinMPQ is the way to go for packing, even though it isn't asking me for a listfile :S

Post Reply

Return to “General Mod Making”