How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post here about all aspects of D2 mod making whether it's information, problems or whatever. Please specify whether your post is relating to Classic D2 or the Expansion.

Moderators: GuyAskingQuestion, Doombreed-x, Nefarius, talonrage

Post Reply
User avatar
georg-destroy
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:23 pm
Latvia

How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post by georg-destroy » Sun Feb 11, 2018 10:13 pm

In armor.txt for armor I changed "gemsockets" to 6,
in Cubemain.txt - added this line:

Code: Select all

1 perfect diamond + 1 any socketable item-> add 1 socket	1	100	2	
"any"	"gpw,qty=1"	"useitem,sock=1"
Ewerything goes OK, first time the cube adds 1 socket to the item, second time - it just wasting a stone, but does not add any more sockets to my item. What's wrong?
How to add sockets to the item, until it reach the maximum amount of sockets?

User avatar
Volf
Retired Admin
Dominion
Posts: 5379
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 8:19 am
Location: Klaukkala Finland
Contact:
Finland

Hand-picked

Re: How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post by Volf » Sun Feb 11, 2018 10:49 pm

Unfortunately sockets do not stack. Not sure if there is a soft coded way to achieve this but might work if you have 6 similar recipes each adding a dummy stat to the item and first recipe requires 0 dummy stat, next recipe 1 etc.

User avatar
georg-destroy
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:23 pm
Latvia

Re: How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post by georg-destroy » Sun Feb 11, 2018 11:15 pm

Volf wrote:
Sun Feb 11, 2018 10:49 pm
dummy stat
Which file do i need to modify to add these new stats?

User avatar
georg-destroy
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:23 pm
Latvia

Re: How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post by georg-destroy » Sun Feb 11, 2018 11:41 pm

Allright, I used another, simple way:

Code: Select all

1 perfect diamond + 1 any socketable item-> add 1 socket	1		100				2
	"any,nos"	"gpw,qty=1"		"useitem,sock=8"
I changed the the code a bit, so now it should make a maximum amount of sockets in the item.
But when I tryed different item types, I found, that it works strange:

- for normal items it works perfect, and gives 6 sockets.
- for magic (blue color) items - only 3 sockets.
- for rare, set or unique (yellow, green or brown) items - ONLY 1 socket.
Why? What to do to make a maximum sockets in ANY item type?

User avatar
georg-destroy
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:23 pm
Latvia

Re: How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post by georg-destroy » Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:27 pm

so nobody knows the answer?

User avatar
Black_Eternity
Dark Alliance Beta Test
Angel
Posts: 902
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 11:50 pm
United States of America

Re: How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post by Black_Eternity » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:53 am

Please do not double post, instead edit your previous post if you need to add any more information.

You should try adding the sockets through the properties columns instead of the output and see if that helps.
Official Phrozen Keep Discord
Common Modding tools: link
My Resource Packs: link

User avatar
georg-destroy
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:23 pm
Latvia

Re: How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post by georg-destroy » Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:22 pm

Do you mean this?

Code: Select all

1 perfect diamond + 1 any socketable item-> add sockets to the item	1	0	2	"any,nos"	"gpw,qty=1"
"useitem"	25	50	sock	6	8

User avatar
Black_Eternity
Dark Alliance Beta Test
Angel
Posts: 902
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 11:50 pm
United States of America

Re: How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post by Black_Eternity » Wed Feb 14, 2018 6:35 pm

Looks correct, but did you try?
Official Phrozen Keep Discord
Common Modding tools: link
My Resource Packs: link

User avatar
georg-destroy
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:23 pm
Latvia

Re: How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post by georg-destroy » Thu Feb 15, 2018 11:15 am

Yes, I have tryed it. This also adds only ONE socket to the rare, unique or magic item :cry:
Probably, somewhere is a some kind of a limit for socket amount in unique items.
Probably, it depends of LoD version (i'm using 1.09D).
Anyway, I can't figure out, what's wrong :(

Image

User avatar
Black_Eternity
Dark Alliance Beta Test
Angel
Posts: 902
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 11:50 pm
United States of America

Re: How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post by Black_Eternity » Thu Feb 15, 2018 11:33 am

You need to check your max sockets in itemtypes and on the item itself. In my mod I currently have some cube recipes similar to this, but If I try the add 4 socket recipe on an armor that has only 2 max sockets.... I only get 2.
Official Phrozen Keep Discord
Common Modding tools: link
My Resource Packs: link

User avatar
Trevor
Forum Legend
Principality
Posts: 2064
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: Alberta Canada
Contact:

Hand-picked

Re: How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post by Trevor » Thu Feb 15, 2018 6:31 pm

If you want to add one socket to an item (IE 0 sockets --> 1 socket, or 2 sockets --> 3 sockets), you need

a) one misc item and multiple recipes with conditionals in cubemain or
b) multiple misc items with one recipe per item.

I went the (b) route. I have misc items with different graphics for single sockets, double sockets, all the way up to hexsockets. If I want an item with 2 sockets, I take the weapon and the double socket and cube it. Obviously they set the number of sockets on an item.

Also, you need to watch the gemsockets stated in weapons/armor.txt and maxsockets stated in itemtypes.
AfterMath Overview: http://www.aftermathcentral.com

Following the path of least resistance is what makes rivers and men crooked.
- Author Unknown

Mod Completion: Always under Construction
D2SE Compatible Only

Playing AfterMath v3.0.1 ~ 1020 MB
Released March 31, 2017

User avatar
georg-destroy
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:23 pm
Latvia

Re: How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post by georg-destroy » Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:18 pm

I believe, it does not make a sense, what to put as an ingredient into the Horadric Cube.
The problem is that i can not add the maximum available amount of sockets into the RARE or UNIQUE item. and it does not matter how to do this - at once or step by step (increasing socket amount after each use)

User avatar
Trevor
Forum Legend
Principality
Posts: 2064
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: Alberta Canada
Contact:

Hand-picked

Re: How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post by Trevor » Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:00 pm

I can add 6 sockets to any socketable item that takes up 6 or 8 inventory boxes. It doesnt matter if its rare, white, or unique. You have something wrong in one of your files. Start with itemtypes, then the weapons.txt file. If those are correct, check your recipe in cubemain. You might a duplicate receipe somewhere that you forgot to remove or disable.
AfterMath Overview: http://www.aftermathcentral.com

Following the path of least resistance is what makes rivers and men crooked.
- Author Unknown

Mod Completion: Always under Construction
D2SE Compatible Only

Playing AfterMath v3.0.1 ~ 1020 MB
Released March 31, 2017

User avatar
Black_Eternity
Dark Alliance Beta Test
Angel
Posts: 902
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 11:50 pm
United States of America

Re: How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post by Black_Eternity » Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:25 am

the sock=# in the output column
The max sockets from this are as you listed (magic=3, set/rare/unique=1). This can be stepped around by using one of the mod fields to set the number of sockets (but you can only set the sockets in one of these 2 areas not both). When using the mod field to set the number of sockets, the limit will be from the gemsockets data in armor.txt/weapons.txt and the MaxSock## fields of itemtype.txt (using the ilvl of the item).
Official Phrozen Keep Discord
Common Modding tools: link
My Resource Packs: link

User avatar
georg-destroy
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:23 pm
Latvia

Re: How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post by georg-destroy » Sun Mar 11, 2018 5:13 pm

Great, at last, it works!!!
I should write socket number into "mod 1 param" instead of "mod 1 min" and "mod 1 max" columns!!

User avatar
georg-destroy
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:23 pm
Latvia

Re: How to add maximum sockets to the item?

Post by georg-destroy » Sun Mar 11, 2018 5:14 pm

Code: Select all

any UNIQUE socketable item + perfect diamond -> add MAX sockets to UNIQUE	1	100	2	"any,unq,nos"	gpw					"useitem,sock=6"	sock	6	

Post Reply

Return to “General Mod Making”