mpq data file corrupt when i edit a tile?

Post here about all aspects of D2 mod making whether it's information, problems or whatever. Please specify whether your post is relating to Classic D2 or the Expansion.

Moderators: GuyAskingQuestion, Doombreed-x, Nefarius, talonrage

Post Reply
User avatar
haunted4545
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:48 am

mpq data file corrupt when i edit a tile?

Post by haunted4545 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:11 am

Hi,

I changed a tile graphic in d2exp.mpq but when I try start d2 it says the mpq file data is corrupt?

This is what I did:

1 - used MPQEditor to get the .dt1 file
2 - extracted the .pcx file from the .dt1 file with DT1 Tools
3 - edited the .pcx file in photoshop
4 - made the new .dt1 file from my modified .pcx file with DT1 Tools
6 - replaced the original .dt1 file with my modified one in MPQEditor
7 - replaced with original mpq with my modified one.

I think its got something to do with how I edited the tile in photoshop?

Thanks.

User avatar
haunted4545
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:48 am

Re: mpq data file corrupt when i edit a tile?

Post by haunted4545 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:44 am

update,

I just tried to extract the dt1 file and put it back into the mpqwithout any editing, and I got the same error. I think its a problem with the mpq editor. I have windows10, which is the best working mpq editor for d2 lod?

User avatar
haunted4545
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:48 am

Re: mpq data file corrupt when i edit a tile?

Post by haunted4545 » Thu Mar 01, 2018 2:27 am

Seemed my mpq editor wasnt compatible with diablo2/win10. I tried WinMPQ now and it just worked fine - guess i'll use that then

Post Reply

Return to “General Mod Making”