Changing Splash screen version text

Post here about all aspects of D2 mod making whether it's information, problems or whatever. Please specify whether your post is relating to Classic D2 or the Expansion.

Moderator: Nizari

Post Reply
User avatar
Darkquake
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:38 pm
Australia

Changing Splash screen version text

Post by Darkquake » Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:48 pm

Just want to know how to edit the splash screens version text. I assume it's somewhere in patch.mpq since it's updated with every patch but can't find it for the life of me. thanks.
I make things? I make things.
Image
https://www.moddb.com/mods/darkquake

User avatar
HarvestWombs
Senior Moderator
Angel
Posts: 924
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 11:50 pm
United States of America

Re: Changing Splash screen version text

Post by HarvestWombs » Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:05 pm

It actually requires code editing.
Official Phrozen Keep Discord
Common Modding tools: link
My Resource Packs: link

User avatar
Darkquake
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:38 pm
Australia

Re: Changing Splash screen version text

Post by Darkquake » Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:10 pm

I see. How difficult are we talking and could you point me directions?
I make things? I make things.
Image
https://www.moddb.com/mods/darkquake

User avatar
Necrolis
Site Admin
Throne
Posts: 8942
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 1:22 pm
Location: The Land of the Dead
Contact:
South Africa

Hand-picked

Re: Changing Splash screen version text

Post by Necrolis » Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:16 pm

its actually rather easy to find with a text search inside D2Launch, you just don't have much space; I'd recommend re purposing an exception string if you plan to make it longer.
Image
Netiquette, Do you USE it?!?! | Nefarius' Fixed TXT Files | Terms Of Service
Blackened | Day of Death
"What was yours is mine. Your land, your people, and now your life." - Lim-Dul, the Necromancer
Judgement is Final, Death is Eternal

User avatar
Darkquake
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:38 pm
Australia

Re: Changing Splash screen version text

Post by Darkquake » Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:40 pm

I get what your saying but that's beyond me atm. Don't want to ask how to hardcode here since I've seen heaps of guides on the site about how to do it already. I'll go read up on them, thanks :)

Edit Actually wouldn't it be easier to change the splash screen image? Might do that lol
I make things? I make things.
Image
https://www.moddb.com/mods/darkquake

User avatar
Darkquake
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:38 pm
Australia

Re: Changing Splash screen version text

Post by Darkquake » Thu May 24, 2018 3:48 pm

So done lots of what I wanted with my mod now, how do I go about learning how to code edit? The "Diablo II Code Editing Tutorial" in the knowledge base links out to a site that doesn't work anymore.
I make things? I make things.
Image
https://www.moddb.com/mods/darkquake

MRCelSynap
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:52 pm
Contact:
Canada

Re: Changing Splash screen version text

Post by MRCelSynap » Thu Jun 07, 2018 2:29 pm

This is pretty easy to do as stated, and if it is the only code edit you're looking for, it may be easier to just ask. The version you're running and the updated text would help with that.

If you want to learn, YouTube has become an amazing resource for this now as well checking out the discord.

Best of luck!
Check me out on Twitch as I will be periodically streaming my modding progress

EisBacken
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2018 11:31 pm
Germany

Re: Changing Splash screen version text

Post by EisBacken » Thu Jun 07, 2018 8:28 pm

PlugY has the option to change the Version-Text, as far as I know.

User avatar
Darkquake
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:38 pm
Australia

Re: Changing Splash screen version text

Post by Darkquake » Mon Jun 18, 2018 9:04 am

Version I'm running is 1.13c.

I did do as suggested and run a text search for a load of values like: 1.13, 13, 1(wildcard)13, ver and a hex search for 31 33 and still couldn't find it?

PlugYs option is for changing its ovn version text on the right side of the splash screen not the vanilla patch version on the left.

Edit: [Solved] search for the string "v %d.%02d" and replace it with whatever you want, do note as mentioned above there is not much room.
I make things? I make things.
Image
https://www.moddb.com/mods/darkquake

User avatar
ChaosMarc
Dark Alliance Beta Test
Paladin
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:00 pm
Germany

Re: Changing Splash screen version text

Post by ChaosMarc » Mon Jun 18, 2018 11:41 am

just for completeness, plugy has the desired option:

[MAIN SCREEN]
ActiveVersionTextChange=1
VersionText=
ColorOfVersionText=0

Post Reply

Return to “General Mod Making”