I DID IT! I added a new token!

This is the place to discuss all issues relating to the manipulation of graphics/animations, sounds, music and cinematics within Diablo 2.

Moderators: Nefarius, Necrolis

User avatar
Joel
Retired staff
Dominion
Posts: 6921
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 7:19 am
Location: Orsay
Contact:

Hand-picked

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Joel » Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:22 am

Well found the solution :)
In fact the framerate isn't hardcoded at all :)
the check i showed to you deals with totally other things.

The reason my mercs look funky is because the token I use (FG) - well it doesn't exist as monster token- exists as OBJECTS token !!! and its FGNUHTH framecount was 6 ...

So even if the token doesn't exist for a monstr, beware to not duplicate an object token in Animdata.d2 ...
"How much suffering, mortal, does it take before you lose your grace?"
Shadow Empire (coming soon) | forum

User avatar
Nefarius
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 11607
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 8:13 pm
Location: Where the blood forever rains
Contact:

Hand-picked

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Nefarius » Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:27 am

sorry to say it, but I dont think thats it (maybe its only for FG)

I just created a monster with the 5Q token,
in objects.txt 5Q = "well temple 513 5q"
(I added it to animdata.d2)

I have no framecount issues at all, and also no anim speed, my rate is set to 256 and it all works the same way I wanted it too.

Which is weird, maybe its a FG only check?
''(...) The game can basically be considered unhackable. '' - Blizzard Entertainment (30th May 2000)
Black Omen Productions | MetalStorm: Progress Report | Screenshots

User avatar
Joel
Retired staff
Dominion
Posts: 6921
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 7:19 am
Location: Orsay
Contact:

Hand-picked

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Joel » Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:29 am

check the framecount of the obejct and of your animation.
Maybe they are close ?

Hmm that strange !!!
"How much suffering, mortal, does it take before you lose your grace?"
Shadow Empire (coming soon) | forum

User avatar
Nefarius
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 11607
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 8:13 pm
Location: Where the blood forever rains
Contact:

Hand-picked

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Nefarius » Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:43 am

5Q object:

NU = 1 direction, 10frames
(ON and OP dont exist for monsters)


5Q monster:
NU = 8 directions, 96frames
''(...) The game can basically be considered unhackable. '' - Blizzard Entertainment (30th May 2000)
Black Omen Productions | MetalStorm: Progress Report | Screenshots

User avatar
Joel
Retired staff
Dominion
Posts: 6921
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 7:19 am
Location: Orsay
Contact:

Hand-picked

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Joel » Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:54 am

go figure ...
well I think we can forget those little ponctual problem for now :)
"How much suffering, mortal, does it take before you lose your grace?"
Shadow Empire (coming soon) | forum

User avatar
DDDiablo
Forum Regular
Angel
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 1:50 am

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by DDDiablo » Tue Feb 18, 2003 12:18 am

What animdata tool did you use to edit the file?

User avatar
Paul Siramy
Retired staff
Principality
Posts: 2828
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: La Garenne Colombes (near Paris)
Contact:

Hand-picked

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Paul Siramy » Tue Feb 18, 2003 12:35 am


User avatar
DDDiablo
Forum Regular
Angel
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 1:50 am

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by DDDiablo » Tue Feb 18, 2003 12:55 am

Thanks Paul, great as always. :)

Can you not add that to your signiture?

User avatar
Paul Siramy
Retired staff
Principality
Posts: 2828
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: La Garenne Colombes (near Paris)
Contact:

Hand-picked

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Paul Siramy » Tue Feb 18, 2003 5:59 am

It's already too long (problem of maximum charaters limits... URL takes many characters). I'm sometimes planing to replace that sig by 1 link only, to a main page on my site whit all the links I want. Yes, I'll do that... someday.

I started to say you in my precedent post to check the File Center but a doubt arise... I check and didn't see it. I must have forgot to send this prog to Phrozen / Jeff. And I have also many source code to give... And maybe there some more prog to give / update ... I'll do all that... someday :mrgreen:

* end of my Out of Topic *

User avatar
DDDiablo
Forum Regular
Angel
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 1:50 am

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by DDDiablo » Thu Feb 20, 2003 3:34 am

I can mirror everything at my site and add it to a link at my signiture at

"Tools By Paul Siramy"

User avatar
Nefarius
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 11607
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 8:13 pm
Location: Where the blood forever rains
Contact:

Hand-picked

Damn!

Post by Nefarius » Thu Feb 20, 2003 2:47 pm

I just ran into something very annoying and fustrating, it seams that a specific animation I created dosent seam to work in any token...

4f, 99, 56... I went thru all of this, it keeps giving me frames per direction and component crashes even thought cof files and everything are present.

Location : C:\Projects\Diablo2\Source\D2Client\ENGINE\Gfx.cpp, line #1303
Expression : eComponent < NUM_COMPONENTS

Apparently there is no file that causes any conflict ??? it simply keeps happening, (of course I edit the cmncof_a#.d2 files) this makes me think there is another anim cache somewhere... but where :?:

EDIT: this starts being VERY annoying, Im trying to solve this for over 3 hours now to no avail, I even tried adding the file data to the cof cache files, also that didnt help. I tried to replace an existing token with the anims, this resulted in the same thing, I believe that there is a limit to the maximum animations per act :-|
:snipersmile: :break:

I FIXED IT!!! after well, 5 hours lol
I discovered something very strange, when you create 1 direction animations, NEVER create 1 direction A1 or WL animations, it will crash if you do that :P (yes, I know about the unused flower demon, but I think there is a special check in place for it), this is what caused my crash :scratchhead:
Last edited by Nefarius on Thu Feb 20, 2003 5:41 pm, edited 4 times in total.
''(...) The game can basically be considered unhackable. '' - Blizzard Entertainment (30th May 2000)
Black Omen Productions | MetalStorm: Progress Report | Screenshots

User avatar
Paul Siramy
Retired staff
Principality
Posts: 2828
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: La Garenne Colombes (near Paris)
Contact:

Hand-picked

Re: Damn!

Post by Paul Siramy » Thu Feb 20, 2003 5:47 pm

[quote="Nefarius";p="69918"]I discovered something very strange, when you create 1 direction animations, NEVER create 1 direction A1 or WL animations, it will crash if you do that[/quote]
So, do we have to create the A1 and WL in 8 directions, or do we simply have to discard them completly ?

User avatar
Nefarius
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 11607
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 8:13 pm
Location: Where the blood forever rains
Contact:

Hand-picked

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Nefarius » Thu Feb 20, 2003 5:57 pm

I switched mine to 8 directions and it worked.
My demon portals work now :)
(-> http://www.planetdiablo.com/tswto/intern/dp1.jpg http://www.planetdiablo.com/tswto/intern/dp2.jpg )
*they spawn random monsters from the m1-25 rows, will work everywhere btw :)
''(...) The game can basically be considered unhackable. '' - Blizzard Entertainment (30th May 2000)
Black Omen Productions | MetalStorm: Progress Report | Screenshots

User avatar
Paul Siramy
Retired staff
Principality
Posts: 2828
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: La Garenne Colombes (near Paris)
Contact:

Hand-picked

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Paul Siramy » Fri Feb 21, 2003 12:28 am

looks good :) I like the idea also

User avatar
DDDiablo
Forum Regular
Angel
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 1:50 am

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by DDDiablo » Sat Feb 22, 2003 3:01 am

I used the method on this thread and and it worked twice!! :) :) .

I ran into a problem with diablo though. (token swap)

It was an assertion error but it wasn't a line thing. It kept on saying that some of my cofs don't have their cels offsets right.

I will try to find the exact error tomarrow.

Any clue?

Edit: Can you make a new token and make a character use that token?
Last edited by DDDiablo on Sat Feb 22, 2003 3:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Nefarius
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 11607
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 8:13 pm
Location: Where the blood forever rains
Contact:

Hand-picked

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Nefarius » Sat Feb 22, 2003 12:08 pm

plain and simply, if it said "the offsets for a cel are screwed" or a similar string it means the animation is too large, usually when it contains to many pixels. You will have to create a multi-layer animation for very large things.
''(...) The game can basically be considered unhackable. '' - Blizzard Entertainment (30th May 2000)
Black Omen Productions | MetalStorm: Progress Report | Screenshots

User avatar
Rikku
Junior Member
Paladin
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 3:00 am
Location: TX
Contact:

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Rikku » Sun Feb 23, 2003 9:11 pm

Ummmmmm.......
:?: How do you make "COF" files :?:



What are palshift?
Last edited by Rikku on Sun Feb 23, 2003 9:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[color=AAFF00]One little goblin playing in the sun[/color][color=DDFF44] down came the Griffin and then there were none.[/color]

Blood Red Web-Site

User avatar
Myhrginoc
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 12062
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 7:28 am
Location: Percussion U

Hand-picked

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Myhrginoc » Sun Feb 23, 2003 10:02 pm

You copy an existing COF that is similar to what you need, and edit the bytes as required. Descriptions for COF and palshift files can be found using the Search button. And a comprehensive Animation Tutorial will be generally available, soon if not already.
Do the right thing. It will gratify some people and astonish the rest.
~ Mark Twain
Run Diablo II in any version for mods: tutorial
The Terms of Service!! Know them, abide by them, and enjoy the forums at peace.
The Beginner's Guide v1.4: (MS Word | PDF) || Mod Running Scripts || TFW: Awakening

User avatar
Nefarius
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 11607
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 8:13 pm
Location: Where the blood forever rains
Contact:

Hand-picked

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Nefarius » Wed Feb 26, 2003 2:01 am

You could also write a new cof from scratch actually, it isnt that complicated, because the format is fully decoded. (well 99.99%)
''(...) The game can basically be considered unhackable. '' - Blizzard Entertainment (30th May 2000)
Black Omen Productions | MetalStorm: Progress Report | Screenshots

User avatar
DDDiablo
Forum Regular
Angel
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 1:50 am

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by DDDiablo » Wed Feb 26, 2003 3:56 am

Thanks Nef.

What about characters? about the offsets thing. That's what it says. I hat it. Characters new tokens? Possible?

User avatar
Nefarius
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 11607
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 8:13 pm
Location: Where the blood forever rains
Contact:

Hand-picked

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Nefarius » Wed Feb 26, 2003 3:22 pm

techincally it is possible to add new char tokens, but the game wont use them because you cannot add new chars (only new tokens that wont serve any function)
''(...) The game can basically be considered unhackable. '' - Blizzard Entertainment (30th May 2000)
Black Omen Productions | MetalStorm: Progress Report | Screenshots

User avatar
DDDiablo
Forum Regular
Angel
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 1:50 am

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by DDDiablo » Thu Feb 27, 2003 2:52 am

well, theoritically, it is.

All you have to do is find something like montype/monstats.

chartype.

No such file. So search assembly when char loads which file it goes to. The file is where it is. swap assembly code for new token.

Big brainstorm that probably makes 0 sense.

User avatar
Myhrginoc
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 12062
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 7:28 am
Location: Percussion U

Hand-picked

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Myhrginoc » Thu Feb 27, 2003 3:35 am

CharType does exist, so to speak. The three pairs of files are

PlrType / PlrMode (Player type and mode tokens) --- works with CharStats
MonType/MonMode (Monster type and mode tokens) --- works with MonStats
ObjType/ ObjMode (Object type and mode tokens) --- works with Objects
Do the right thing. It will gratify some people and astonish the rest.
~ Mark Twain
Run Diablo II in any version for mods: tutorial
The Terms of Service!! Know them, abide by them, and enjoy the forums at peace.
The Beginner's Guide v1.4: (MS Word | PDF) || Mod Running Scripts || TFW: Awakening

User avatar
Nefarius
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 11607
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 8:13 pm
Location: Where the blood forever rains
Contact:

Hand-picked

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Nefarius » Thu Feb 27, 2003 9:33 am

But still what would it help? because we still would need to replace one of the chars in-game (unlike monsters, due to multi-lines using the same gfx)
''(...) The game can basically be considered unhackable. '' - Blizzard Entertainment (30th May 2000)
Black Omen Productions | MetalStorm: Progress Report | Screenshots

User avatar
Myhrginoc
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 12062
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 7:28 am
Location: Percussion U

Hand-picked

Re: I DID IT! I added a new token!

Post by Myhrginoc » Fri Feb 28, 2003 2:07 am

Right now none of the token tables have been expanded. Your new tokens are taking unused slots for monsters, but there are few unused slots for objects and none for characters.
Last edited by Myhrginoc on Fri Feb 28, 2003 2:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
Do the right thing. It will gratify some people and astonish the rest.
~ Mark Twain
Run Diablo II in any version for mods: tutorial
The Terms of Service!! Know them, abide by them, and enjoy the forums at peace.
The Beginner's Guide v1.4: (MS Word | PDF) || Mod Running Scripts || TFW: Awakening

Post Reply

Return to “Multimedia”