New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Discuss applications of D2Mod (v1.10), NefEx (v1.11+), and PlugY, and post suggestions for future plugins.

Moderators: Nefarius, Yohann, SVR

0
No votes
 
Total votes: 0

User avatar
mrelfire
Angel
Posts: 518
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 9:27 am
Location: France

Post by mrelfire » Tue Sep 21, 2004 3:23 pm

32 dt1 on a new extended level ?
theirs is a post into the code section with the same problem

regarding the dump, I neew to finish an act ;)

User avatar
SVR
Retired staff
Arch-Angel
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Hand-picked

Post by SVR » Tue Sep 21, 2004 3:48 pm

I couldn't find the post in code editing, do you have a link ?

As for the ext_level code itself, there is nothing related to lvlTypes that I can see.

It could be a side effect in the dt1 cache handling if there is some level ID link.
Anyone know if this happens in the original Ext_Levels plugin or just the d2mod version ?

User avatar
mrelfire
Angel
Posts: 518
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 9:27 am
Location: France

Post by mrelfire » Tue Sep 21, 2004 3:51 pm

oups wrong forum, this is the post
viewtopic.php?t=24887

Sardius
Banned
Arch-Angel
Posts: 1173
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 10:43 pm

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by Sardius » Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:46 pm

For those of you using D2mod in a multiplayer invornment, 1.02... Please be are of my discovery...

Monsters will not get there +50% bonus HP for every player that joins..

This is completely garanteed and tested now... Here is how I located this bug...

Through help on the code editing forums, I found the area that controlls monsters increased HP for every additional player...

For my test I made it so every player who joins add's 4000% hp to monsters...
Single player I would type /players 2... The monsters were then unkillable as to be expected...

Then I tried this in a multiplayer game with the /players 2 command, same result..

Exited diablo, started a new multiplayer game, had my friend joined, we partied up, went out and were killing stuff as if it were only 1 person in the game...

I then un-installed the d2modsetup and tried again... The problem dissappeared, my friend connected, we partied up and monsters were then unkillable...

Exited, installed the d2modsetip again, tried again, and the problem came back.

I later found that it's the Utility.dll that causes it, after removiing utility.dll from d2mod.ini, the problem dissappeared.

User avatar
SVR
Retired staff
Arch-Angel
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Hand-picked

Post by SVR » Thu Sep 30, 2004 3:21 pm

I found the reason for this.

The PlayerXMin code edit overrides the multi-player logic.
This is a problem for anyone using that code edit, not just the Utility Kit.

I'm working on a better code edit.

EDIT:

Fixed it. I removed the d2game patch and set the PlayersX variable to the min setting. This way the game does the correct test for players>PlayersX.
I'll post an updated Utility Kit after it's tested to work with d2mod 1.02.
Also added the +HP% to monsters table while I was at it :)
Last edited by SVR on Thu Sep 30, 2004 6:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sardius
Banned
Arch-Angel
Posts: 1173
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 10:43 pm

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by Sardius » Thu Sep 30, 2004 7:52 pm

Cool thanks, got it all set up.
Btw, modifying the max stash size doesn't work properly, it displays the digits properly in the stash, but you actually can't add more gold to it despite the number it says you can add. It still limits you to the default ammount.
Last edited by Sardius on Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
SVR
Retired staff
Arch-Angel
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Hand-picked

Post by SVR » Fri Oct 01, 2004 5:14 am

Hmm, works here.

I have a lvl 23 sorc, normal max stash is 150000. Filled stash to 150000 and had some left in inv.

Increased max stash to 180000 (60000 multiplier) and added remaining inv gold to stash for about 160000.

Now if you want more gold than 33,554,432 (2^25) or half that if signed, you have to increase csavebits in itemstatcost.

User avatar
D2crazed
Junior Member
Paladin
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2002 7:42 am

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by D2crazed » Sat Oct 02, 2004 11:51 pm

;edit - this is a repost from another thread. I appologize for the goof.

The download for StatFix has this in the ini file

; stat1 = statID,MaxStatID,loColor,normColor,hiColor,textIndex (in .tbl)
; stat2 ... more stats

stat1=8,9,5,132,162,4164

but the D2Mod.ini has the following..

; stat1 = statID,MaxStatID,loColor,Color,HiColor,string key,divide
; stat2 ... more stats

stat1=8,9,5,132,162,4164,256

Which is right? Thanks!!!

User avatar
D2crazed
Junior Member
Paladin
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2002 7:42 am

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by D2crazed » Sun Oct 03, 2004 12:35 am

SVR, I've been using your D2MercMod, Utility and Plugy and it works great. Question though, are you still working on making it so the Mercs can actually hold rings and such?

Thanks!

User avatar
SVR
Retired staff
Arch-Angel
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Hand-picked

Post by SVR » Sun Oct 03, 2004 1:42 am

The d2mod.ini entry is right. I added the Divide value but I guess I forgot to update the readme. Thanks for the catch.

The merc can use rings already. Are you asking about a merc inventory ?
I haven't done anymore work on that. I may get back to it one day but it's a major project.

BTW, you should edit your previous post instead of posting two in a row. Thanks.

User avatar
mrelfire
Angel
Posts: 518
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 9:27 am
Location: France

Post by mrelfire » Sun Oct 03, 2004 4:32 pm

does it mean we are going to have version 1.03 ?

User avatar
SVR
Retired staff
Arch-Angel
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Hand-picked

Post by SVR » Tue Oct 05, 2004 3:18 am

1.03 for d2mod ? Not much reason to update d2mod at this time. The plugins will be added/updated as needed but will run fine on 1.02.

I'll release a 1.03 when I get the embedded ini/dll support done and possibly some private server validation. I'm also working on some distribution tools to help package mods that use d2mod. Would like to include them with 1.03.

User avatar
mrelfire
Angel
Posts: 518
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 9:27 am
Location: France

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by mrelfire » Sun Oct 10, 2004 4:28 pm

When my druid change from act in multi player, it crash:
this is the dump I have
http://go4proinfo.free.fr/old.zip
hope this will help

User avatar
SVR
Retired staff
Arch-Angel
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Hand-picked

Post by SVR » Mon Oct 11, 2004 4:24 pm

Hmmm, this crash is not d2mod related.

The code where it crashed is sound related, it's zero'ing memory that should have been allocated earlier but failed.

Don't know what that memory is. May have something to do with the DSERR_NODRIVER message you're getting on startup.

User avatar
mrelfire
Angel
Posts: 518
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 9:27 am
Location: France

Post by mrelfire » Mon Oct 11, 2004 5:04 pm

I have made it crashing 2 times, is it enough ?
do you need more information ?

User avatar
Hades
Retired staff
Angel
Posts: 916
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: Resting in the Fiery furnaces of hell
Contact:

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by Hades » Thu Oct 14, 2004 2:45 pm

Hiya SVR,how ya doing?I've been meaning to ask you how to put D2 mod in my mod with some specific mods,just haven't gotten around to it lol.But I still am leaning towards that way and everything about this looks great. ;)
I was wondering if I wanted to make my mod hardcore only,if there is a plug=in for that or if I have to CE on my own?Not asking for you to do it just curious.
Anyways for my mod I was interested in the snow,skill's per level,portal missiles,possibly merc mod,starlight thing,and was wondering about the utility kit but I'll read about it here first.
But I'll edit this more for better info.And I would like to customize it as much as I can for my mod.
later
Hades
Last edited by Hades on Thu Oct 14, 2004 2:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Don't waste your time always searching for those wasted years,
Face up...make your stand
And realise you're living in the golden years

User avatar
theRat
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 4:28 pm

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by theRat » Sun Oct 17, 2004 8:34 pm

it's probably cause im new to modding but...

i dont understand how statfix.dll work

EDIT: I found it the statID comes from itemstatcost.txt
Last edited by theRat on Wed Oct 20, 2004 3:29 am, edited 2 times in total.

Sardius
Banned
Arch-Angel
Posts: 1173
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 10:43 pm

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by Sardius » Tue Oct 19, 2004 9:44 am

Can you run d2mod.ini settings and d2mod custom dll's through PlugY without using D2modsetup?

User avatar
theRat
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 4:28 pm

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by theRat » Tue Oct 19, 2004 9:52 pm

not sure but i think

you cant put d2mod in plugy.ini, you have to put plugy in d2mod.ini

User avatar
Myhrginoc
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 12062
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 7:28 am
Location: Percussion U

Hand-picked

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by Myhrginoc » Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:58 am

D2Mod has to be the primary add-in, with PlugY the dependent add-in. You add this line to the first section of D2Mod.ini:

PlugY=PlugY.dll

and update PlugY.ini as usual.
Last edited by Myhrginoc on Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Do the right thing. It will gratify some people and astonish the rest.
~ Mark Twain
Run Diablo II in any version for mods: tutorial
The Terms of Service!! Know them, abide by them, and enjoy the forums at peace.
The Beginner's Guide v1.4: (MS Word | PDF) || Mod Running Scripts || TFW: Awakening

Sardius
Banned
Arch-Angel
Posts: 1173
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 10:43 pm

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by Sardius » Thu Oct 21, 2004 7:31 pm

But it cannot be done the other way around like adding the d2mod.ini information to the PlugY.ini and using like the..

DllToLoad=Portal.dll|D2mod.dll|Utility.dll

That wont work??? even with the d2mod.ini info added to plugY.ini?

User avatar
Myhrginoc
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 12062
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 7:28 am
Location: Percussion U

Hand-picked

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by Myhrginoc » Fri Oct 22, 2004 12:28 am

The creators would both have to speak out on this one, but from what I have seen it wouldn't work that way. D2Mod was designed to load other DLLs from a list in its .ini file, and to make the changes to memory images of the existing DLLs so those new modules would interact with the game. PlugY was designed to load one new DLL, the obviously-named PlugY.dll, and change the memory images of existing modules only as needed to integrate the new display elements.

What problem is there with using D2Mod to load PlugY in your mod? I have done this with Second Coming, after the fact, and no ill result. PlugY still uses its own .ini file, and the only changes you might have to make (and only in the .ini files) would be ones where both plugins do the same thing (e.g. skillpoints per level).
Do the right thing. It will gratify some people and astonish the rest.
~ Mark Twain
Run Diablo II in any version for mods: tutorial
The Terms of Service!! Know them, abide by them, and enjoy the forums at peace.
The Beginner's Guide v1.4: (MS Word | PDF) || Mod Running Scripts || TFW: Awakening

Sardius
Banned
Arch-Angel
Posts: 1173
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 10:43 pm

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by Sardius » Fri Oct 22, 2004 1:39 am

If I posted the reason it would be deleted.
Unfortunetly the reasons that d2modsetup isn't an option for me are also reasons that are not allowed to be discussed here on these forums..

User avatar
Myhrginoc
Retired Admin
Cherub
Posts: 12062
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 7:28 am
Location: Percussion U

Hand-picked

Re: New system for code mods - D2Mod.dll

Post by Myhrginoc » Sat Oct 23, 2004 12:17 am

Nothing like leaving a broad hint, eh? Just as well not to mention it.
Do the right thing. It will gratify some people and astonish the rest.
~ Mark Twain
Run Diablo II in any version for mods: tutorial
The Terms of Service!! Know them, abide by them, and enjoy the forums at peace.
The Beginner's Guide v1.4: (MS Word | PDF) || Mod Running Scripts || TFW: Awakening

User avatar
SVR
Retired staff
Arch-Angel
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 11:04 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Hand-picked

Post by SVR » Sat Oct 23, 2004 5:28 pm

No plugY can't load d2mod plugins. d2mod plugin dll's are a list of code edits with new supporting functions added. PlugY doesn't know how to apply these.
btw, plugY doesn't work under your circumstance either.

**** UPDATE ****

The Utility Kit Has been updated to fix the Multi-Player HP problem.
There are also a few more settings added.

Get it from the main link post.

Be sure to save your old dll & settings. This version hasn't been vigorously tested yet :P
Last edited by SVR on Sat Oct 23, 2004 5:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply

Return to “PlugY|NefEx|D2Mod”